T Nation

Ecto, Meso, or Endo: Do You Know?

I think i'm an endomorph. My question is how should i be working out?

realy hard.

Put weights first, and then do some cardio. Watch your diet and study nutrient timing. It's all pretty simple really.

is this a troll?

your profile says you are a personal trainer...

dan

How'd you get to be 6'4", 265, and training for six years, if you're asking this now?

"How you should train" has much more to do with your actual goals and less to do with your somatotype.

So just because i'm a personal trainer means i can't ask questions?

I just thought i'd get some positive feedback to see what other people out there were doing.

But i guess that isn't what these forums are for.

it's just that for a personal trainer, the question "how should i be working out" sounds a little vague. I guess I don't really know why I think this, given that the majority of the personal trainers I've met are under-informed, but I STILL, for some reason, work under the assumption that personal trainers will ideally know a thing or two, and at minimum, know enough to ask specific questions about what they don't know or aren't sure of.

I'd imagine a personal trainer or two would have trained an endomorph or two. what would you advise them?

also, you probably know that training programs are based on information besides somatype. something about your goals, how long you've been lifting, what your current program looks like, etc. might be useful.

even a question as simple as "in what ways should training for an endomorph differ from training for an ecto- or mesomorph?" would seem to lend itself to more useful replies than "how should i be working out". And as for the question above (i.e. "in what ways should training for an endomorph differ from training for an ecto- or mesomorph?"), my impression is that most of the certification tests that a trainer would have to take would cover this sort of thing. no?