T Nation

Eating on a Budget?

Well Lads, I'm a newbie here on the forums but have been a t nation reader for about 6 months! I'm from Ireland but in Massachusetts this summer on a J1. Iv been working part time at landscaping and tree care so really physical work in the heat and iv been lifting in the evenings when I have the time/energy! Ill prob end up doing labor for the summer and was just wondering what foods ye recommend?

Im generally a primal eater (paleo + some dairy), but i think i need to get more carbs in to hit the cals ill need. Im looking to stay strong and get lean. My stats currently are 5ft 10" 170ish lbs and around 12% bf. I was prob a bit leaner getting here but i had no gym for like 2 weeks and was eating everything! Any help appreciated!

Give me your address and I'll send you some of my homemade bread and energy bars from Maine.

Welcome to New England!

Some useful info in this recent thread:
http://tnation.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/diet_performance_nutrition_supplements/manual_labor_jobmore_food

But a big part of it is just going to be planning as best you can, and preparing stuff ahead of time whenever possible. This article has some good tips on that:
http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance_nutrition/preparing_for_battle

I don't know what your schedule's like, but keep it simple. Shoot for three big meals a day and throw down quick snacks whenever possible during the day. Not sure what else to tell you.

So what "can't" you eat? And what did you eat yesterday?