T Nation

Eating Clean

I've been reading about nutrition on this site for a while and I realize that caloric intake is probably the most important factor in gaining weight in the form of muscle.

However, as a high school student, I have a hard time eating enough food while also eating clean. More specifically, I find it's hard to eat a lot of food that doesn't come from a box (processed carbs?) when you're at school roughly 8 hours a day.

Anyone have any tips for getting in roughly 3500 calories with a majority of it being clean?

More specifically, I guess I'm just asking more for suggestions on specific foods to eat like nuts, yogurts, peanut butter, wheat bread, etc.

Any more suggestions?

pasta, olive oil, ground beef, chk, whole-grain bread, protein shakes, fruit, etc. simple foods, just eat lots. like hambugers with lots of cheddar cheese and some chk/pasta dishes. also, remember that you dont have to eat all 3500 cals at school, have a 1000 or so in the morning and at dinner. dont even worry that that's too much at your age. you could probably eat more and not have a problem.

How much do you weigh? I get the feeling its not all that much, and that you could stand to eat some not so clean foods to get your cals in.

Other than that, there are lists of these foods all around here.

6'0, 187 lbs.

8 hours of school is a long ass time, ouch.

here's some suggestions:

at night, after school, whatever, take 20-30 minutes for food prep the next day.

chop up a bell pepper and throw it in some tupperwhere with a bunch of hummus. Combine with a protein shake and some olive oil. Also toss back an apple.

I'm sure you eat a good lunch and have that figured out.