T Nation

Eating Clean Above Maintenance = Too Full?

Hey, Starting Strength newbie here. Some stats:

H: 6’7"
W: 295 lbs. (I’ve got some weight to lose)
A: 26 years old

The program’s been working great for me so far. My newbie squat’s gone up 40 lbs. after 4 weeks. It’s going to be sad when linear progression ends, eh.

My problem is that I’ve been shooting for a Leangains approach; a little on the lean side. Part of the alleged ground rules are that you should chew your food, and that carbs should come from probable paleo-type stuff; mainly leafy vegetables, potatoes, etc.

But even on a 3000-calorie intake diet for lifting days, I just can’t fit that much fucking food into my stomach in an 8-hour window. I didn’t become a 295 lbs. fatty by eating light; I was always the guy in my group of friends who actually didn’t get full on biscuits at Red Lobster and could eat as much as I wanted anywhere I went. But clean eating…the calories in clean foods are so low that it’s just kicking my ass on volume, and it’s skewing my entire idea of what’s healthy/clean and what should be done for a lifting diet. I can’t make it through the second meal of my attached diet, and it’s really screwing with me mentally, as I’m worrying I’m not eating enough and I’m going to stall way before I should. On days I can’t finish the clean foods, I’ll usually throw some dirty stuff into the mix for my last meal to compensate for the calories.

So realistically:

1. How healthy can one reasonably expect to eat when bulking and building muscle? At what point for you has it been impossible or impractical to keep shoving more healthy food in your mouth, and better to just eat some fast food or chug shakes, get the calories, and keep the intake high for muscle growth? Or maybe you know some better, more calorie-dense stuff I could be eating…