T Nation

Eat More Protein!

For the kids…

After many years of training, detraining, and retraining, I have finally begun to eat an adequate amount of protein. This idea has been promoted on this site and all over so it is nothing new. I eat food so it can be hard for me to consume 400 to 500 grams of protein but I do get between 250 and 350 grams of protein and it makes a big difference in my strength.

I have never regained so much strength so quickly as I have after my most recent layoff. I am lifting really no different than ever but I am eating more protein and I am quick approaching strength pr’s at 40 lbs less body weight. So kids, anyone under the age of 34 who is not feeding themselves enough, start eating your protes!

If I only knew this 15 years ago.

dislcaimer: I am not a scientist, but I can say that it works for me.

Any tips for getting in some of that extra protein?

I’m always looking for tips to get more protein in…
I mainly get mine from chicken, tuna, steak (occasionally, cheese, milk and my protein shakes.

Not too into cottage cheese though that makes me feel sick.

[quote]BruceLeeFan wrote:
Any tips for getting in some of that extra protein?

I’m always looking for tips to get more protein in…
I mainly get mine from chicken, tuna, steak (occasionally, cheese, milk and my protein shakes.

Not too into cottage cheese though that makes me feel sick.[/quote]

I eat 6 to 8 jumbo eggs in the morning and try to eat a bag of boneless skinless chicken throughout the day. For supper I usually eat whatever is for supper + more meat.

I tried to add extra eggs before I went to sleep at night but it really was to much.

I would eat as much food as possible and supplement with the shakes on either end of the day. I have not found a shake that I am not allergic to these days otherwise I would probably drink a lot more of them.