Easily Gain Back Width, Not Thickness

So I’ve been on T-Nation for about 4 years now and the improvement I have seen since then is too me great. I got one problem that is now pissing me off really badly. I can make progress in back width (lats, etc) basically at will, but no matter how much or how targeted I try and train rhomboids/middle traps, they stays as flat as a thin sheet of paper.

I have really tight pec/shoulder girdle which I have been working on for about 2 years solidly, with stretches (I’m a Physical Therapist) and that’s been improving. But no matter what I do, I just can’t get any visible hypertrophy of mid/upper back.

The last straw came yesterday when my old lifting buddy saw me and told me how much wider my back had gotten, but how I look like I lack mid-back musculature. If any of the veterans on here have tips I would appreciate it. I have even consulted friends who are sports certified PT’s and CSCS to no avail. Thanks T-Nation.

What are you currently doing for you upper back?

Do you have any pictures that show the problem area?

I could easily put up a pic later, I’m at work now. For back I’m doing bent over rows on the t-bar station ( stand perpendicular), retractions face down on a slight incline, Deadlift from pins with emphasis on retraction, Seated high-rows, facepulls. I find anything where the lats are even slight involved, and thats it’s, no work in mid-back.

And I am working out back 2x/week after being retarded for my early years of lifting when I never worked out back. I have a slight structural scoliosis but I don’t think it is affecting this that much.

I know it’s not really on topic, but would you mind posting (or PMing me) what you do to stretch your chest/shoulders? Whenever I try it seems to just irritate the shoulder capsule and leaves my pecs largely untouched. Clearly I’m doing something wrong…