Early Training Age Gains

Hey guys. I’m kind of in a predicament between whether I should concentrate on building up strength purely, and later use my strength to get bigger, or if I should just continue getting bigger and stronger, but not particularly concentrating on one or the other. I’ve been stuck in a rut for a while, and my rationale is that if I get significantly stronger, I can harness that towards bigger lifting for hypertrophy later down the road, but I’m worried I might sacrifice some gains…

I’m by no means a beginner, but nor am I advanced. Overall, I’ve added around 80 pounds to my frame since I started the iron game, but I would like at least another 40-50 (eventually).

Any input?
Thanks
BT

Ever try cycling between the two?

It’s kinda hard to separate and categorize, IMO. Sometimes I gain 5-10 lbs in a few weeks without much increase in strength, then after sitting at that weight for 2 months my lifts jump up 10-20+ lbs in a week or two.

It also depends on what you’re trying to accomplish? Any particular goals in mind down the road?

FWIW, if I had to choose I’d do a BB show before a PL meet but currently I’m doing more of a PL type routine to get stronger/denser and after a few ‘cycles’ I’ll lower the intensity a little bit and do more BB style training. But again that is age/size/progress/goal specific.

strength ALWAYS leads to bigger muscles…I think anyways.

You’re actually struggling to decide whether you should get bigger and stronger (which are your goals), or just struggle to get stronger because you aren’t eating enough or doing enough to gain a significant amount of muscle…?

Hm tough decision dude.

I think if you’ve gained 80 pounds on your frame, you should have a pretty good idea of what to do…
This is like Shannon Sharpe complaining he carries “TOO much muscle”

Aim for a 4/5/6 bench/squat/deadlift. That’s pretty strong and I think you’ll like the mass accompanying the power.