T Nation

EARLY Morning Workouts... 5am Nutrition?

I am 41… worked out in my 20’s… sacked out through school, gained weight and realized when I hit 40 that I didn’t want to continue. I am 74" (188cm) and weigh about 225 lbs (100kg). DEXA says I am about 32%, Electrical Impedence says 25%, and BodPod 28% bodyfat. I was about 12% in my 20’s weighing about 195. I am otherwise healthy.

As a physician, I have significant demands upon my time. This is exacerbated by a wife and 4 children, all of whom I love. Therefore, I am relegated to working out before anyone else gets up.

This causes issues as far as training. I am getting enough sleep, probably about 7 hours. I wake at this time regardless, so there really isn’t ‘sleeping longer’. I got about 5 hours throughout school, so this is PLUS. However, I can’t get in much of a pre-workout meal.

I have been working out for 30-40 minutes 3x/week initially, because I was sore and my recovery was MUCH LONGER than in my 20’s. In the last 2 months I have increased it to working out 5X/week. Again 30-40 minutes, each day.

Mon/Thur - Chest/Shoulders/Tri
Tue/Fri - Back/Bi
Wed - Legs

I am ‘sore’ each workout in the appropriate muscles and essentially fully recover before my next workout of that body part. Early on… I was not recovering, hence hitting everything only once a week to start.

My nutrition is not great, but I do get in about 180-200g protein and try to limit carbs. I lost about 15lbs to start and have certainly gained some good muscle. However, I seem to have plateaued. That is fine… however, I know that I have not maximized my variables as yet. Which is why I am here… looking for REALISTIC help. The reality is… I won’t be living on supplements. My wife is an excellent cook and I won’t give up eating with my family. HOWEVER, I do eat relatively well and can do better. My issue meal is supper with my family, otherwise, I can watch my diet pretty well.