Dumbells for ME Training

So I’m pretty new to T-Nation. Been reading a lot, and I’m a freshman in college.

What does everyone think about using Dumbells for ME training. I’ve heard they’re better for over all muscle hypertrophy, but I was curious if they have any place in a ME day, particularly as the main movement.

Sorry for a sort of newbie q…we’ll i guess it’s a newbie q.

Depends what your goals are.

DB de-load is good for benching off weeks, otherwise stick with a barbell for powerlifting.

You can do some single leg split squats with heavy DBs, should tear you up for lower ME days.

yup goal dependent for all around athletics sure even in rotataion as a PLer but if PLing is the goal your going to need plenty of time with the BB.

Outside of PLing sure for the upper body and some lower though you are going to be sacrificing a LOT of load ion things like the DL and squat with DB’;s

[quote]tigerak02 wrote:

You can do some single leg split squats with heavy DBs, should tear you up for lower ME days.

[/quote]

Great idea:)
Will42

dude do max lift with barbell then supplemtal lift with dumbells.

Not sure about ME DBs but I use DBs for almost all of my lower body training,mostly bulgarian and single legged squats in place of regular squats because of a messed up disk in my back. Then again if your goals are powerlifting I don’t see how you could really go without BBs.

use those dumbells for tricep extensions and hammer curls.

Sounds like a great way to injure yourself.

[quote]cap’nsalty wrote:
Sounds like a great way to injure yourself.[/quote]

I agree. As much I love the Bulgarian Squat, it can be hard on the knees, and doing it as a ME exercise is just asking for knee problems. Balance and grip strength might also become the limiting factor, and you would have to save energy for the other leg or else you would develop an imbalance.

Here are a few points I would consider in this discussion.