T Nation

Dumbbell and Band Training for Fat Loss?

Greetings,

I’m new here—my name is Andrew. I’m a veteran, former NSCA-CPT, asthmatic, and am currently an OTR trucker.

I have tried loads of things and found failure because I lack determination as well as confidence in my own methods of training. I track my own food, only eat when hungry, drink obscene levels of water and still fail. It’s time to be humble and ask for help.

I need help with a split for a six-day lift week. I have a pair of adjustable 50-lb dumbbells, a 10-50lb set of detachable bands and my rig. My goal is fat loss and I need some muscle to accomplish this.

I just started century reps, the goal is 100 GOOD reps over a variety of sets. I’m quite open to suggestions with TUT, ROM, set-rep tweaks, recovery times, etc.

Literally, all I eat is tuna packets, microwave rice, quest, vegetables, nuts, copeous amounts of water, coffee, and bang.

My calories: at or below 1,900
Protein: at or below 190
Carbs: at or below 166
Fat: at or below 53

Thanks for any discussion, tips, suggestions, and guidance. I’m always eager to learn.

Andrew A.

What’s your current body weight?

What kind of trailer do you pull?

I’ve been doing high rep/low weight recently due to some heart problems and although it feels good and gets the blood flowing it really lacks intensity.

I’ll do sets of 25 one arm curls, overhead press, band pull apart, chest press (bands) , rows(also bands) , then sldl’s(again, bands) with no rest between sets until the circuit is complete- for 200 reps, except deads. I only hit them for 100.

Granted, I have to keep exertion levels within strict limits (120 bpm pulse rate) it is difficult to work within the metabolic range with significant intensity.

You might do better if you can use a more challenging weight.

Either of these good stuff…

or…

I pull dry van.