T Nation

Drummerofgod89's Road-To-Greatness Log

The purpose of this log is to keep record of my 2nd bulk in my goal to eventually compete in bodybuilding as well as receive comments, critique, help, and encouragement from those who care to share it.

Ok, so here’s a little bit of my training history, which isn’t too extensive, so it won’t be too long.

I started lifting last year in late August because I was tired of my body and college was my chance to open up a new leaf. I weighed 180 lbs @ 20% BF. I wasn’t exactly the best of shape. So I started running in a treadmill while lifting. Somehow, I ended up at 180 lbs @ 12% BF. I guess I built muscle and lost fat at the same time.

Then I decided it was time to bulk up. I did this to an extreme. I took in 500 - 600 grams of protein a day and at least 6,000 calories. I was gaining 13 lbs a month for the first 3 months. After 7 months, I was 70 lbs heavier, putting me at 250 lbs. I had gained 50 of that in muscle and 20 in fat.

In May, I stopped lifting for 2 months because I felt burnt out from lifting every day for the past 8 months. Despite this and now dieting I lost 30 lbs. Now I’m back at it and I’m gaining my muscle back while still losing fat. I love muscle memory.

I’m currently 220 lbs @ what I estimate to be 16% BF at 6’2". That’s a net gain of 50 lbs of muscle and 4% less BF in 11 months or so. I will be cutting for about 2 more weeks, and will be bulking again starting about August 25th. I will be keeping a log of my progress the entire time.

My training program I am writing for myself while taking elements from others’ as well as a few articles found here on T-Nation. I hate following programs to a T. It just doesn’t work for me. I like to march to the beat of my own drum.

The program isn’t set in stone yet, but it’s going to be along the lines of something like this:

Day 1: Chest/Biceps
Day 2: Legs/Shoulders
Day 3: Back/Triceps
Day 4: Traps/Calves/Shoulders/Abs
Day 5: Rest IF needed