Dropset & X-Rep Combo

I’ve been lifting for several months now, people on forums recommend me to not do drop sets and take it easy, I don’t understand why…

Anyways, I read about X-Reps and am actually going to try them out today. Ive been occasionally doing drop sets on my last set per exercise, and its been working out ok. I was thinking of perhaps combining both into one? Say, make two drops in weight, then when moving that to failure, do X-Reps with it. Is this good/bad?

usually people will tell you that at your level(only several months), basic compounds movements + eating well is enough. But even if youre a newb its still fun to do those things imo, to spice things up. I did machine bench press until total failure(was barely handling 1 plate on a very last set) couple of times after my regular bench press and I felt gooooooood.

Yeah, How do you know when you are not a “beginner” anymore? I have gone from 165 to 178 in 3 months, sure its probably not all muscle mass, but its some damn nice progress. I Like to go do a full body workout 3x/week. I haven’t even touched any supplements, not even whey protein. (which I should buy btw)

but yeah, how bout combining dem drop sets with x-reps guys? :wink:

X-reps blow. I’ll try and look up the information on it again, but it’s been shown not to help. Basically it was some idea that the guys over at Muscle and Fitness came up with the try and sell books. I bought the book, did the workouts, saw nothing great.

Not too mention none of their workouts included bench or deadlifts!

With only 3 months you are seeing the beginner�??s gains. You will be in that level for some time. One way to do it is compare your strength levels. I would give yourself a year of serious lifting before trying more advanced methods.

wow, I wonder if anyone else experienced no positive results from doing x-reps. I know that Arnold S. used a form of X-reps, but then again, he used steroids… :frowning:

What are x-reps?