Dropping the Squat Training Wheels

So at my YMCA there is only a smith machine. This is what I’ve been using to squat for the past 3-4 months I’ve been doing of 5/3/1. I put my feet right under me instead of out in front to mimic a real squat as much as possible and go full depth.

At my school there is actual squat racks. I would like to use these if the gym at my school is open on squat days, but I am not sure how I will do on balance.

Does anyone have experience making the switch from smith to normal rack? Is it hard to balance? Will I have to take 50 lbs off my squat if I use the normal rack instead of the smith?

you may have to take a lot of weight off as the smith can teach bad form in the squat. see if you can get a box and box squat when you have the power/squat rack to use. and drop the smith squats and switch to bulgarian squats, stepups, or some other single legged squats.

Just simply don’t expect to be awesome at squats. It is a very challenging exercise to master, and even then everyone has some sort of weak point on their timeline of training. My suggestion to you if you don’t have a coach is to just read as much as you can on the squat, and watch as many videos as you can.

Check out “Squat Rx” on YouTube, those are excellent videos on the squat. If you meet someone in the gym that you admire, ask for their help. That is one of the best things that happened to me was meeting some powerlifters and competitive bodybuilders along the way, take what you feel is important from everyone and you’ll eventually get there. Start slow and reinforce good technique, it took literally years of training for me to get good at squatting. Be patient with it. Good luck.

[quote]Evolv wrote:
Check out “Squat Rx” on YouTube,[/quote]

along these lines look up, “so you think you can squat”

[quote]Evolv wrote: