Dropping Deadlift on the Floor

I just got back into powerlifting after a 25 year hiatus. I started training again at a gym here in Sweden - (I relocated here for work) - and found a pretty hardcore gym to train. I noticed the prevailing school of thought here is to just drop the bar after standing erect with a deadlift. You know, just let go and drop the bar like you throwing away a gum wrapper or something after each rep.

Back in my day, I thought this was verboten. As far as I recall, there were even rules against dropping the bar in competition as well, so we trained to that standard.

What gives? is this a European thing? A new thing? A Russian thing? A way to reduce stress and prevent injury of the lower back maybe?

You must maintain control of the bar during competition. In the gym it doesnt really matter. Dropping the bar removes the eccentric and causes a tad less fatigue.

Not a huge deal.

Definitely not the European thing, as far as I’ve seen. Mind you, I haven’t been in any Swedish powerlifting gyms! Might be a product of the bumper-plate-happy CrossFit crew or just a mini-culture within your particular gym.

Mark Rippetoe wrote a good arcticle for this website about this:

Skip to the “Less Bounce for the Ounce” heading.

It’s not the norm in Sweden; at least the gyms where I have trained and currently train. When I have seen it occur, it is usually some CrossFit type person dropping small weights trying to look strong. A lot of the Crossfit gyms out here are full so sometimes they infiltrate other gyms.

Bumper plates or idiots.

If you’re on a platform, I don’t think it’s a big deal to drop the weight during training. I used to do it when wearing my deadlift suit due to the suck factor of going back in the hole with it to set the weight down.

Concentric-only DLs can be very useful from time to time. Definitely not something to do regularly.

It’s no different than dropping a weight from overhead with bumper plates that you’ve pressed.