Drinking Eggs?

Is it safe? Is it wise?

I used to drink eggs raw everymorning when i was younger. I couldnt afford protein powder. They did the job, I never got sick or suffered any ill effects.

But i have heard of people who have gotten sick from drinking them.

I know that there are a couple of other threads on this site that discuss the topic in detail so you might want to do a search. You should be able to get some good info.

One concern would definitely be catching salmonellae. I believe the danger is less severe now due to improved hygiene measures in egg production, the vaccination of laying hens etc., though.

I’ve been doing this for almost two years now. I started because I couldn’t afford protein powder but quit frankly until I notice any ill effects I’ll probably continue indefinitely. I actually lost 10lbs doing this. I often mix it with orange juice to help with flavour and to add some vitamin C and simple sugars. About half a dozen every morning. At first I thought I was one of the only people doing this, but I am encountering more and more people who follow the same practice. While there may some risk of contamination, if I haven’t had any problems after two years it gives you an idea of how minimal the risk is. In fact I’d say most food warnings are overblown.

Should be OK if you keep them fresh. Lots of people do it and have done so every day for decades. I’ve heard that cooking them even just ever so slightly kills the germs, I am not suggesting you cook them, just that the germs if there are any are pretty weak. This isn’t very scientific of course. One thing though, I wouldn’t mix up a drink then leave it sitting around for 30 mins. Crack the egg, add it, drink it - no waiting.