Drinker with a Gym Problem...

so i’ve decided to start a journal in an effort to tap into the resources of some of you powerful women. rather than lurk and post here and there, i am cautiously going to post what my training looks like to get your opinions and perhaps then i can actually track stuff to see what does and doesn’t work for me.

if my journal title sparked you interest, then that’s probably a good thing. i will say that i’m much less of a drinker than i was…waaay less. so it’s no surprise that after 6 solid years of lifting, this is all i’ve got to show for it. however, as of the turn of '09, i began what i consider serious lifting and a serious attempt to minimize my wine consumption. yes, i’m fully aware alcohol kills brain cells, stunts my growth, can make me an asshole and ultimately, slow my muscle development and keep me from getting as lean as i need to be to show off those muscles.

i started lifting around 14 and loved the feeling of trembling legs, shortness of breath and being ready to fall over. i wanted muscles (think Cory Everson era)! i had a BF who was into bb and i read all the M&F mags with him. played softball since i was about 7, stopped in jr year high school cuz i had to work. lifted serious from 18-21, then fell off the wagon til pretty much 30.

6 years later-i’m on a quest to stay healthy enough to lift, get stronger and ultimately be lean enough to have the GP say, “damn, she must work out.” i would like the regulars at my weak sauce gym to say, “get the fuck out of her way, she means business.” and it wouldn’t hurt if i could inspire a few women to stop thinking they just need “to diet and tone up.”

i’ve seen a few of you around fa and here as of recently and have truly enjoyed your posts and knowledge. i’m digging the threads in this PW forum and am hopeful i can make some gains with a bit of insight from you all (or at least a handful of people that find it worthwhile)

-talena

[quote]talenaah wrote: