T Nation

Doing Something Wrong

I am posting this because I'm losing hope to find a simple and concise recommendations for correcting posture. I googled, and I read (including about Neanderthals on this website), but most resources are difficult for a newbie.

My main goal is to correct my posture; then grow some muscle. I'm a software engineer and spend 10 hours a day in front of a computer. Naturally, this does not help my already bad posture. I suspect I have the whole package: lordosis, kyphnosis, forward head posture, you name it.

About 3 month ago I joined a very good gym. I go there 3 times a week and spend about 45 minutes there (at lunch time). I also swim twice a week. I'm working mostly on my back with various retraction exercises: rowing, cable, etc mostly using machines. I try to exercise all muscles of lower, mid and upper back.

I must be doing something wrong with my exercises - although I see muscles growing somewhat, the posture does not really change.

I would greatly appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction.

Top right. Google "posture". Start reading.

Read the stickies for your work outs.

Lots of info there.

Congrats on starting and doing something about it.

Now, go forth and educate yourself

Good luck.

i've been doing it for the past month. I learned about relevant muscle groups, exercises, etc.
i'm trying to implement it in the gym, but, like i say, i'm probably doing something wrong.

Thanks for the reply.

you can start a lifting program, focus mostly on your pulls, it will balance your posture.

Well, you are only 3 months in, I don't think posture changes happen very quickly. Keep at it for a while, I very much doubt you are doing more harm than good.

http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/hips_dont_lie_fixing_your_force_couples

This is a good article to take a look at as well, I recently had someone point me this way for a problem of my own.