T Nation

Doggcrapp and WS4SB Discussion

I do not intend for this thread to turn into a debate about which style is better (because they both have proven track records). Instead, I hope this will be a lively discussion about the differences and similarities of the two styles. Personally, I’ve been doing WS4SB for several months with a slight personal modification to fit my goals.

I.E. I am not longer an athlete. I do not want to train like an athlete. I want to look like a bodybuilder, so I’ve adapted it to fit more into that role.

However, the reason for this post is because I believe that the two styles are strikingly similar and have way more in common than they do contradiction.

For example, 1) both are basically upper/lower splits that use the same type body part breakdown. 2) Both focus the big lifts around one max effort set 3) both focus on progression or “beating the logbook” 4) both allow you to hit each muscle with low volume, high intensity every 8 days or so.

In contadiction, Doggcrapp uses rest-pause. No advanced intensity tecniques (to my knowledge) with WS4SB. And Doggcrapp uses extreme stretching.

I’m sure I am missing some for both sides of the coin, and ultimately that is the point of this post. Just for the hell of it is my modified WS4SB template that I’ve been doing for almost 5 months with excellent strength gains.

Day 1 – Deads – work up of max set of 3-5
Walking barbell lunges 3 x 8-12
Leg Curls 3 x 8-12
Weights hanging knee raises 3 x 12-15

Day 2 – OFF

Day 3 – Barbell Bench – work up to max set of 3-5
Incline DB Press 3 x 15-20
T-Bar Rows 3 x 10-12
Face Pulls 3 x 8-12
Barbell Curls 3 x 8-15
Reverse Curls 3 x 8

Day 4 – OFF

Day 5 – Power Clean - ramp weight till failure
Squat 3 x 8

Day 6 – OFF

Day 7 – Flat DB Press 3 x 8-12
Chins (25 reps)
DB Military or Push Press 3 x 8-12
DB PWR Cleans 3 x 8-12
Weighted Dips 3 x Fail
Close-Grip Bench 3 x 8-12

Day 8 – OFF

Repeat. Pease discuss.