Does Young Powerlifting Stunt Growth?

I’m 15, 5’2 and 120 lbs. I’ve been powerlifting for 6 months with the help of other seasoned powerlifters and I haven’t grown ever since I was 13. This question is asked pretty often but I just wanted to make it clear for myself. Have I stunted my growth?

Unless you damage your spine with cat back deadlifts or something, the answer is no. Using steroids might cause it but even that claim hasn’t been studied well.

Anecdote does not equal evidence, but FWIW, I started lifting weights with my dad when I was 9 years old (squats, deadlifts, bench, the whole nine yards). I was under 5 feet tall at the time, and I grew to be 5’11" by the time I was 16. So I’m going to guess that it did not stunt my growth (it’s faintly possible that perhaps I would have grown even taller if I had not started lifting, but I’m going to guess that effect was likely trivial, if it happened at all).

Also, if you’ve not grown since you were 13, and you’re 15 now, and you’ve only been powerlifting for 6 months, it would appear that your growth stopped before you started powerlifting, no?

I’ve read some things about lifting weights messing with the growth plates in a negative way at certain early ages. I’d never tell a 15 yr old to do anything much more than bodyweight training but everyone matures differently. That’s just to err on the side of safety for long term health.

Can you provide some sort of physiological mechanism for this? Because I am curious how it is that children who can run, jump, climb up things, fall off things, crawl around jungle-gyms and monkey bars, would come to additional grief from lifting weights, assuming that the selection of load and exercises are appropriate. Many of those things are likely more taxing on their body than lifting weights, no?