Does TRT Lose Effectiveness Over Time?

Long time lurker/first time poster here.

I started my TRT journey 3 years ago strictly abiding the “TRT Protocols” set forth by KSman. I personally wanted to say thank you. I was lucky enough to find a doctor who was willing to go about TRT the proper way, and things have been going smoothly ever since.

I did however have a question about long term TRT usage. I’m 29 years old and I do not foresee myself ever wanting to stop TRT simply due to the fact that my quality of life is exponentially better than when I first started. My question is this: over time, will you notice a decreased response to TRT? (I’m thinking along the lines of building up a “tolerance” or frying your receptors.)

I apologize for the newbie question, but I was looking for a similar thread but could not find one.

Any input/comments/insight would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.

No. Not going to happen.

1 Like

I’m no expert but I’ve talked with my doctor multiple times about this same concern. He has assured me it won’t. Adjustments may be necessary (his words, not mine) but it won’t stop working. I want to ask, ‘yeah, but how about when I’m 90?’ Then I remember the damage I did to myself 18-35 and realize this is probably something I don’t need to worry about.

Edit: I’ll also add that I’ve been on for 5 years and I think it has become more effective the last two years. Almost the older I get, the more benefit. Not sure if this is in my head, but I honestly feel even better at 40 then 30.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. What your doctor said makes sense given the fact that natural aging processes will need to be counteracted with changes in TRT regiments.

I have an appointment with my doctor next month and I’ll be sure to pick their brain about this. I’ll repost in this thread if I find out anything useful.

Thanks for the reply. Cheers.