T Nation

Does This Work?

Hey all,

Love T-Nation, been lurking for awhile. I've been lifting for around 3 years and made alright progress. I've focused on compound lifts (squats, deads, weighted chins, etc) but having some trouble with chest and arms. I have almost done no direct isolation work for my arms in 2 and a half years. Friends of mine keep commenting I should be focusing on these areas as they look like weak points. Can you guys tell me if this is a decent program for bringing up chest and arms? Thanks

Monday:
Bench 5x5
Barbell Rows 5x5
Squats 5x5
Preacher Curls and Skull crushers

Wednesday:
Power Cleans 5x3
Weighted Chins 5x5
Military Press 5x5
Abs

Friday:
Deadlifts 5x5
Bench 5x5
Close-Grip Bench 5x8
Power Shrugs 5x8
Preacher Curls and Skull crushers

Looks pretty tough, but if you can consistantly do it, you should see improvements in your overall physique and not just arms and chest. This will especially hold true if you haven't done a routine like this.

Look up CW's TBT. It encorporates both full body, compound movements and some isolation work.

Im doing it currently and I love it.

looks like you have been influenced by bill starr in some way or another, not a bad way to go.

One thing I would change about your program is do some sort of incline bench pressing. I currently do a routine similier to what your doing, but day one is 5x5 squat-bench-row 2x12 incline dumbell press, and day 3 is either higher rep bench or incline bench. My chest seems to be growing well. Also you could change shoulder press for weighted dips for more chest work.

Cool, thanks for the feedback everyone. I'll let you know the results after two months or so.