T Nation

Does this Press PR "Count."


#1

I pressed 185 overhead on a Joker set for a PR. However, after the fact, I realized that I did not take 1 step away from the rack before the lift. I was hyped and basically started lifting it when it was un-racked from the J hooks. I am not sure what the “rules” are on this. could someone please clarify?


#2

If the movement was full range of motion and there was no assistance, I don’t see why it wouldn’t count.


#3

Did you press it overhead? Why would it matter if you walked it out or not?


#4

Thanks guys. Yes, full range of motion and overhead. I think I am being way too over analytical about this. I guess I will just enjoy the PR for what it’s worth and move on to the next goal.


#5

Damn right, man.

Good work!