Does Hobbyist Martial Arts Training Lead to Overconfidence?

vadfvfddsvsdvsdsdsdsdsdds

Brilliant thread idea. I am wondering the same thing with myself. I have been training combat with associated fitness for more than a couple of years since a professional eye saw me at a fight gym.

I like to think I can deal with people, and it is true that that person isn’t immediately at the beginning aware of my combat capabilities, but I don’t know theirs either by the same token.

My current situation in which I am not in an actual fight gym is going to last another several months, and it eats at me where I am at. Also I am rehabbing a tendon strain, so there too.

Great topic.

I’ve seen a fair number of fights working as a bouncer, but my sample size is still pretty small. Still, here are my observations of those encounters

First big fight I was involved in, the guy instigating it was certainly tough. He endured some real punishment, that’s for sure. The problem was he had zero, repeat zero martial arts skills. No ability to defend himself, no ability to inflict harm on the five bikers who were beating him down. None of those guys appeared to be using any technique either. Just an old-fashioned 5-on-1 beatdown. To that guy’s credit, he had a set of balls on him. He tried to fight me (I wouldn’t let him, just overpowered him), then he tried to fight a guy who spent six years in prison, then he tried to fight that guy and all of his buddies, then me again, and finally he charged after the cops when they showed up. The cops definitely had some training, and hit him with a spectacular takedown before pig-piling and cuffing the guy.