Does E2 Raise SHBG or Does SHBG Lower E2?

Hi all, a quick but important question.

I’m studying SHBG trying to find out why mine is high while on TRT.

I’m seeing contradicting posts regarding this. Some people say that high E2 will raise SHBG, others say that SHBG lowers E2 by binding to it. Which of these is true?

Estrogen will increase SHBG, but not to any large degree, estrogen has a minimal impact on SHBG. If you restrict food intake SHBG will increase over time.

In most cases there’s not much you can do to decrease SHBG except suppress it with more androgens.

Thanks, systemlord. When you say “suppress it with more androgens”, does this include E2? Is estradiol an androgen?

What about SHBG binding to E2? By binding to it E2 should be lowered, right? It’s said that SHBG bonds to E2 20 times less than to Free T, but it still binds, doesn’t it?

E2 can be lowered by SHBG, at least the free quantity, as it can bind with SHBG. SHBG elevates in response to low levels of androgens, like test and it’s derivatives, and estrogen, as a natural response. TRT lowers SHBG as a natural effect of having more androgens in your system. Your body uses SHBG as a wharehouse. If you have elevated SHBG and plenty of available androgens, you need to investigate other causes, like liver issues.

What was your SHBG prior to starting TRT? Has it gone down at all? I also have high SHBG, mine was 77 prior to starting TRT, my TT and FT were astronomically low. My first blood work came back with high TT middle FT, it caused my SHBG to drop to 65. TRT should be bring your SHBG down, it shouldn’t be rising with TRT…

I see. Thanks. But what is the purpose of SHBG then? If it lowers androgens by binding to them, then why does it do it when androgens are already low?

It would make sense if SHBG would start binding when androgens are excessively high to lower them…