Does Anyone Speak Mandarin?

I hear there are some people in China who speak it.

/Couldn’t resist

lol, funny.

seriously, though, anyone on this website?

Nope. I studied it for a year, but realised I prefer Japanese from an aesthetic point of view. Doing that now, but I’m gonna go back and do Mandarin once I have Japanese dialled in a year or two. Why do you ask, anyway?

I took 2 years of Mandarin in college.

So, no.

[quote]G87 wrote:
Nope. I studied it for a year, but realised I prefer Japanese from an aesthetic point of view. Doing that now, but I’m gonna go back and do Mandarin once I have Japanese dialled in a year or two. Why do you ask, anyway? [/quote]

I’m taking Mandarin in college and was just curious. Out of all the people I know who’ve studied mandarin… none work out, lol.

I’ve always had a desire since I’m thinking about studying international business.

But I don’t know if I could commit to learning a language as different from the western world.

Not only are there ?4000+? characters but they have 8 speaking tones you’re supposed to use.

I always liked Japanese though. Plus I’ve heard that although China is extremely rich in culture and history, the place is extremely dirty.

I’ve never been myself, but a friend went and showed me pictures of Shanghai, you literally couldn’t see 15 feet in front of you.

I’m curious on why you want to learn too.

ya I speak it

i learned a bit of japanese too. it really is a great language, ordered and predictable so it is easy to learn, but also gives alot of room for self expression.
i heard chinese was easy to learn too since there is so little grammar in it

I’m chinese but i’m bad with mandarin lol.
I can get by with conversational mandarin.

Its hard to memorize and master the language, its not only the characters but idioms and acronyms etc…

However if you understand chinese, japanese is fairly easier to pick up because a huge chunk of it is borrowed from chinese.