Do You Think You'll Ever Be Satisfied?

I was thinking recently about why I decided to get into powerlifting last year. I realized that I have an almost a Insatiable desire for power, or I guess a desire to test my limits. To see what I am truly capable off. I remember when I was about 17 all i wanted was to be able to bench 205. I thought if I could bench 205 I would feel strong. Then after some lazy on and off training I hit 215 and for about a week I was happy but then I wanted 225. So at 19 last january i started training regularly, and I hit 225 my first week. Then I wanted 245 hit that 2 weeks later. Then I discovered the deadlift and the sqaut. I just wanted to put 3 plates on each side for my dead. After a few months all i wanted was 4 plates, hit that a month ago and now all i want is 5 plates. Then 2 weeks ago i benched 300 a few days later couldn’t stop thinking of 315. Hit 300 for a triple and now all i want is 405 lol. Its like i cant b happy for more than a week when i hit a PR before i covet a new one. I guess i was just wondering if you other guys feel the same way. Do you ever think you will be satisfied? will you ever say I am “strong enoughgh” or will we just continue to chase bigger numbers till the day we die, just for our restless spirit to rip its way thru our corpse in search of bigger numbers.

If you are ever content, you’re doing it wrong.

You can always get stronger, get cutter, run faster, learn new exercises…whatever.

If you have no desire to improve, you’ve failed.

Your question is ironic to me. You have the mind of a powerlifter apparently, and your asking other powerlifters if they have said mind of a powerlifter, haha. I have the same mindset, I seek strength and being stronger like a heroin junkie. :slight_smile:

I will always consider myself weak, even if I am strong in the eyes of others. You should never be satisfied with where you’re at.