Do You Still Workout If You Are Feeling Your Last Workout?

I’ve mainly been reading about HIT through Mike Mentzers books, and he would of course answer this question with a big no! However I do feel like the amount of rest days he advocated between workouts was a bit extreme. So I’d like to know what you all think about training when you are still mildly sore from your last session; would you carry on with your scheduled workout or allow another rest day, and why?

I’m still sore pretty much every session and I’ve been lifting for 14 years. I think it’s just everyone’s individual response to exercise is different. Training again can help alleviate soreness. The main way to tell if you’ve truly recovered from your last session or not is if your performance is better or worse than last time.

3 Likes

As long as the soreness is bearable - I’m still going to work out. If your joints feel like shit though, it’s best to wait until they’re ready for the exertion again.

2 Likes

This is where I’m at – normal muscle soreness and I train. Joints are barking at me more than normal and I either wait or substitute something else. I used to just pop some NSAIDs and train in the latter situation; not a good long term approach.

1 Like

I’ve never believed in circumin, but I will say that Biotest’s Circumin supplement works. I thought it might have just been placebo, but I had really bad body aches when I had Covid - I took some circumin and it it reduced significantly. For reference: none of the other cold/flu medications did a damn thing to help the body aches.

I don’t feel much different during normal workouts, but why would you? It’s like saying “I should feel injured right now, but I don’t”
Anyways, it’s worth considering.

1 Like

Thanks, curcumin has been in my regimen for a long time. I notice a difference between the new Biotest one vs. the old one.

1 Like

Absolutely not.