T Nation

Do You Push Press?

This exercise gets a lot of love in the CT(HTH) forum with CT calling it “the best overall shoulder builder” but I rarely (from my observation) see it mentioned in the bb forum side.

Have you guys seen large returns from this specific exercise as opposed to another OHP movement? I’ve mostly used Seated DB press since I can lift heaviest in this movement but do switch to the push press from time to time.

I’ve been using the push press for a couple of months now and my shoulders are improving quite well. But there are too many other factors for me to say it’s just the push press.

Push press just seems more natural to me, definitely seen an increase in size, and its also increased my strict OHP.

I’ve always been confused as to what the advantages of push press are as opposed to a strict OHP. Obviously you can lift more weight, and for a rugby player such as myself, it’s sports specific, but in terms of building muscle? Isn’t it more beneficial for your shoulder muscles to be under more stress through the whole ROM?

[quote]chimera182 wrote:
I’ve been using the push press for a couple of months now and my shoulders are improving quite well.[/quote]

What does this mean?

[quote]RTJenforcer wrote:
I’ve always been confused as to what the advantages of push press are as opposed to a strict OHP. Obviously you can lift more weight, and for a rugby player such as myself, it’s sports specific, but in terms of building muscle? Isn’t it more beneficial for your shoulder muscles to be under more stress through the whole ROM?[/quote]

In a push press, 1) someone can use more weight, and 2) someone can lift the bar much more explosively while still using their shoulders. These two reasons are why I’ve found the push press to be superior to any overhead pressing movement for muscle development. There is only a minimal amount of leg drive in the push press, the shoulders are still thoroughly stressed.