T Nation

Do You Partner Up?

I have been training for ten years now and found that the greatest supplement to a workout is a partner with the same goals and intensity as yourself. I have had training partners in the past, but none stuck around long. They would usually fade away and stop training.

So I trained by myself for a long time. It wasn’t until I got together with who I train with now that I have seen the greatest gains in strength and mass. It started out as working in with him on squats and grew to aligning our routines on the same days at the same time. Now we are a team. We have broken plateaus that previously exisited and found a new drive to training.

There’s something about having someone there to pump you up and give a quality spot when needed. He has more training in PL, so I have also learned a lot from him about the DL. He’s a strong fucker too, so it’s always a lighthearted match to see who can outlift the other. I have to say that I missed out on quality training without a partner. Just wondering if anyone feels the same way?

I really enjoy training with someone else, mainly because they help psych you up for each set. But at the moment I train by myself, and enjoy being able to power through a workout just with my headphones on and not having to worry about anyone else, changing weights for each set and so on.

Well I guess I should said that we are pretty close in terms of strength. We progress with the same weight. Only ceratin movements do the weights change significantly. Whatever he picks up or squats is what I pick up or squat and vice versa. The one whose the more psyched will lead the weight progression.

It’s good for the days where if you were alone, you would slack and not push yourself. We don’t alow each other to slack.

I do better alone, but that’s probably because my only partner is less dedicated (and more naturally cut) than I am