Do You Love What You Do?

I’m at a point in my life where I dread going to work everyday. I know I know… “Who likes to work”; but there are people that enjoy their career and what they do. I happen to not particularly care for what I do. It’s not a miserable job and I get paid quite well for it but I just don’t enjoy it.

So I was curious as to what people on T-Nation do and most importantly… Do You Enjoy and Look forward to going to work every day?

A little background on what I do. I work for a large insurance company in their IT division. I basically administrate and “babysit” servers. Growing up, I was never really into the whole computer thing and I’m still really not into it. I was an aspiring musician all through school but somewhere along the way I started to look at life through a “realistic” viewpoint and decided to abandon music for a more lucrative career path. So I basically sold out my dream.

Now that I look at my current situation and ask myself what I’d really like to do, I can’t seem to come up with the answer. Music isn’t the first thing that comes to mind anymore. Writing in some way seems to be appealing to me. I think it’d be cool to be a sports or a travel writer. Of course the big problem is that once you make a certain amount of money, you almost become enslaved to that income. Does that make sense? Any change in career path at this point may involve a change in lifestyle for myself and my family and that is a little scary.

So… let me know if you enjoy what you do everyday and what that is.

Thanks

Right now I’m a cubicle drone, staring at screens with little blinking lights and filling out electronic paperwork. There’s not much point to get into more detail. I get paid very well and the job itself is low stress, but I have to drive out of state (MD to VA) to get here. Now that I think of it, this was my dream job as a kid- get paid a good bit of money and do nothing.