Do You Keep a Training Log?

I started writing down how many reps/sets I can do with a certain weight , I write it on my calendar so I can check if there’s any progress later on.

When I go to the gym I use my cellphone,I save it as a text message.

Numerous notebooks filled with past training logs.

It’s the most important thing to me. Constant progress every time.

I love looking back and seeing how much stronger I have gotten.

Like 2 years with a:
5x3 in. 80 sheets Memo Book

Small and a smaller pen will slide into the spiral…

Mine is black, always black…

Yeah, I don’t see how people can make consistent progress without recording their efforts.

I’ve kept a complete training log since the day I started training. After all these years I now have several spiral notebooks stacked up detailing every set, rep, weight, personal notes, etc., which makes it very ideal so I can go back and look at certain training cycles that were exceptional for me and base new ones on those or even repeat them.

Everytime I do as well, also I’m probably one of the only people in the gym walking around with a clipboard and sheet of paper writing down everything I do. My clients do it as well when I’m not with them, I gotta know what they are doing on there own.

Excellent question, Horazio. In my opinion, we train with a log. Otherwise, it’s just tinkering with the toys. Also, I think John Stone’s idea of regular photos is a good idea: you SEE the progress, not just read it in your journal.

Personally, the biggest help to my progress came when I began timing my workouts, recording not just exercises, sets & reps, but the length of my workouts in minutes. I keep track of total tonnage for the day and week, dividing this number by the time in minutes to give pounds pressed per minute. This way keeps my work hard and honest.

(Needless to say, nearly all my movements are compound: when in doubt, do a dip.) Good question. And log on!

[quote]MarkMedinnus wrote: