T Nation

Do you have a gonad?

How many of you use chalk when you train? If you do, do you use a block, a gonad (squashy ball made of netting, full of loose chalk) or the just the powder? Which do you prefer and why?

I’ve never tried the chalk bags before (gonad?? that’s a new one on me…) I get a block of climbing chalk from an outdoor goods store (REI), break it up, and store it in a Gladware container.

I use the bag. It was only after a looong discussion with the owner of the World Gym where I workout that I was allowed to use it. This gym generally outlaws chalk. In fact you get in more trouble for using chalk than wearing work boots and blue jeans while working out (both are also outlawed). If I had the room and the money for a good Leg Press machine I would only work out at home.
Best of Luck.

I use a gonad (also new to me!) in a rockclimbing bag for max effort deads and farmer’s walks. I always lay out my towel so as not to make a mess, and no one from the gym has said anything yet. I’ve been at this gym for about 6 months, and am the only one there using chalk. Actually, I’m the only one there doing deads and farmer’s walks.:slight_smile:

I break up a block into a zip-lock bag and take it with me that way.

I’m a ziplog bag guy like Steve. Great minds think alike.:slight_smile:

When I’m away from my normal weight room, which has a chalk box right next to the Platform, I smuggle half a block of chalk in in a soap dish. I usually wipe the bar down (blasphemy!) just to avoid the inevitable “No chalk aloud!” signage.

I’m a big fan of the chalk ball or “gonad” as you put it. I can use all the chalk I want without making a total mess.

I have used chalk (gonad is new to me though).I don’t blame the gyms for banning chalk or gonad because, people don’t use it right and it gets all over the place and who’s got to clean the mess? If everyone used it correctly I don’t think it would be ban in any gym. Few people make it bad for all of us who use it right.