T Nation

Do We Need Simple Carbs?

I am a newbie to both nutrition and to T-Nation (having only jumped on the wagon about 2.5 months ago)

I have been searching unsuccessfully to discover whether or not there is actually any need to consume simple carbs?

Amoung other changes to my diet I’ve cut out any products containing sugar completely for 2.5 months and thinking about not eating fruit (fructose) for a month or so to see if it helps the slimming process…

I take a pretty good multivit so think that’ll keep me on the level more less micronutrients wise.

Also recently discovered that Vinegar lowers GI and have been adding this to salads with a little vegetable oil. So don’t know if this might cause problems with GI levels if I cut out fruits too.

My goal is to lose some weight, but not in a radical and unsustainable way. I’m now a student of nutrion for the long haul! Would very much appreciate your help :slight_smile:

of the macronutrients, the human body needs only proteins and fats. no carbs are needed whatsoever. plenty of people have died from protein and fat deficiencies, but it is just as impossible to die from carb deficiency as it is to die from alcohol deficiency.

there are many good reasons to increase fruit intake, rather than decrease it, even when your goal is to lose fat. the whole “fruit is bad” mindset started because some uninformed people who wanted to cut out all carbs to lose fat thought that the fructose in fruit was a major roadblock in there quest to lose weight. for many reasons, that is just not the case. do a search on fructose, fruit, apples, raspberries, grapefruit, and bananas as these are the fruits that seem to be most often cited to be good for fat-loss.

i just re-read the part of your post about glycemic index. i don’t really understand why you would think that, so it would be helpful if you would expound.

You may not need carbs to breathe,but carbs are essential.
Look at it this way.