Do Leg Curls Help the Squat?

I am not going to be able to do any loaded squats until january and pretty much anything standing with heavy weights do to a foot injury. What I am asking is do you guys think that leg curls and extensions are work doing. My foot is recovering really well and I am going to start having a leg day.

My thoughts on this are hyper-extensions body weight stepups with no weight, and back machine and lots of mobilty. I have been doing pl type work for the past two years and have made good gains on the main lifts, but have been sidelined. I plan on returning back to what I did before, but in the meen time I don’t want to be that far behind. Any advice would be great!

I always do leg curls after deadlifts. Pretty much anything that strengthens the hamstrings can help your squat. Leg curls allow you to strengthen them without compressing your spine.

If you have access to a GHR that’s a better option but unfortunately a lot of gyms don’t have one.

^Same here. No GHR at my gym, so I do leg curls from time to time. I prefer good mornings and barbell hip thrusts, but you might not be able to do those with a foot injury. But yeah, heavy hamstring curls certainly won’t hurt.

I can’t even do any seated good-mornings, because I can’t unrack the weigh. I do have a hyperextension, which I am going to try out tomorrow and I see your point about the leg curls strong hamstrings, have to be better than nothing I’ll just do it after the hypers. I was also reminded by a trainer here about this lower back machine it looks like the same movement as a goodmorning so I’ll give that a whirl as well.

[quote]calhoon wrote: