T Nation

Do I Need Creatine or Protein Powder?

I had my first day at the gym today (in Amsterdam, Holland) and my "personal coach" told me to buy both creatin and protein powder the first day - which I didn´t.

He said that I would progress so much fast if I bought them both, but they were pretty expensive and I have been told by my friends that I dont need that kind of stuff until I have been bodybuilding for at least 6 months.

Obviously he was trying to sell me some products just to earn money (and maybe a commission?), so I am just wondering if he was lying or if I should order some of it?

Regards,
male 20 years - (more skinny than fat...) :slightly_smiling:

Proper diet THEN supplements.

Protein powder and creatine will get you to your goal faster but do nothing if your program and diet are not in line.

There’s no reason not to use creatine, but that goes both ways afaik. It’s sort of pointless to use if you’re not already lifting properly/eating properly like JFG said.

Protein powders are great if you can’t get proper amounts of protein in your regular diet and/or you just want to be able to eat more without feeling sick due to eating too much. It’s difficult to eat A LOT of solid food, and as such protein powders help.

Don’t bother with creatine. As a beginner it is pretty much a waste of money that could be spent elsewhere. If your trainer is any good you will see fast gains without it.
Protein powder would be fine to buy, just don’t get ripped off. Also don’t use protein powder as a replacement for your regular meals. Use it to add additional calories to your daily intake. Have 1 or 2 scoops immediately after your workout then an hour later eat a normal meal.

[quote]Highjumper wrote:
Don’t bother with creatine. As a beginner it is pretty much a waste of money that could be spent elsewhere. If your trainer is any good you will see fast gains without it. [/quote]

I’m sorry what :OO that’s bold.