Do I Have Bad Genetics?

Hi Folks,

I have been lifting for 1.5 years in total. As you can in the before pictures, I started out very weak, as a 19 years old 125 lb skinny dude (I am 5’11) that didn’t even have visible abs. I lifted weights for 3-4 times a week for a year, I knew what I was doing in the gym, I trained correctly. But one thing that I did wrong, I neglected my nutrition, but I actually got up to 140 lbs after a year. Then, I stopped training for a year because I was discouraged after not seeing progress, but I was still active playing other sports.

After that, I started to take this seriously again 5-6 months ago, I started learning counting macros and etc. Now I am 155 lbs and my maintenance is around 3500 calories (150/450/100; rough estimate). I am currently maintaining at ~3500. If I miss a meal then I am going to lose weight the next day. Also, I put on 30 lbs of mass compared to when I first started but there are some fat there as well.

I certainly don’t want to stop training nor to make an excuse. Do I just fit the description of someone who has “bad genetics” in muscle building? Since I have extremely fast metabolism and am having hard time building muscle. Also it seems that my body doesn’t quite absorb the protein/nutrients compared to other people as well as poor response to weight training (a.k.a the term “non-responders”). I also have moderate scoliosis and slight pectus excavatum as you can see in the pictures. The only good thing that some people have told me, is that I have naturally wide shoulders (maybe because of my bone structure), even so I am not quite confident if that is true.

It looks like you have 2 fully formed legs and arms, and at least 2 fully formed hands. Assuming you have fully formed feet too, that makes you incredibly blessed on a genetic level. It’d be a shame if you were to squander these gifts.

11 Likes