Do-able Shoulder Warmup/Prehab

I have been having some warning signs of impending shoulder issues.

Lately it seems that my shoulder girdle just doesn’t feel right when I lift.

What are the suggestions?

Before every upper body workout, I do 3 reps of each of the YTWLs, Apley scratch, 10 band dislocations, and 10 band pull aparts.

I cannot for the life of me replicate the pain with any of the information that I have available to me.

I have even considered drastically reducing overhead work for a while.

Any type of education/help you can provide me would be greatly appreciated, and I swear to pay it forward.

Please ask for more information, and treat each other well.

Where is the pain, or not feel right? Any specific lift or motion? Let me preface by saying I am not a medical pro or therapist, but experienced shoulder issues last year. I am 6’5 desk jockey, and poor posture most of my life. A combination of prolonged heavy bench and weighted pull ups / chin ups developed a tight lat and pec on right side that caused severe shoulder pain.

What I did to treat: stopped pull ups for about 6 mos. Worked on t-spine mobility and posture (there are a lot of good stretches here on the site but the one that helped me most was the kneeling in front of bench with elbows on bench, hands up, and lowering head between arms). Lat and pec stretches, and the no-money band pullapart.

Once I was able to add pullups back into routine, I only do neutral grip, and only in low rep intervals (3-5 between all work sets for the day). I also saw a therapist to work out the tightness in lat / pec connection. This helped immensely. The improvement / awareness of posture has enabled me to set PR’s in all overhead work, and without pain.

Anyway, sorry for the ramble. Just my $.02. Good luck!

[quote]Grove wrote: