DL with Long Torso and Short Legs?

I am a newbie to powerlifting, but I have lifted weights in the past. I am 6 feet tall and 170 pounds (a friend of mine who is 5 foot 2 and also has a long torso has longer legs than me), and I have been lucky enough to watch my squat grow quite a lot in the past six months. However, my deadlift has dragged behind, terribly.

To give you an idea of how bad my deadlift is, I can max out at around 400 pounds with my squat, but I can barely get 200 pounds off of the ground when it comes to my deadlift.

When I do deadlift, I don’t feel my hamstrings, my back always feels pained (and loose), and I never feel like I am in a position of leverage (until I get it passed my knees).

I have tried doing a variety of things like taking extra time for specific mobility drills, utilizing partial movements, and practicing cues relentlessly, but nothing seems to work well. Any suggestions for this beginner would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Well first, post a video of your squat and deadlift if you can. A 400 squat and 200dl sounds pretty whacky to me and most likely you could be squatting high or something to that effect. Secondly, I don’t buy much into that whole built a certain way to deadlift based off your torso and limb lengths. I know people love to exacerbate every little minute detail, but what it boils down to is deadlift how you feel comfortable and can lift the most weights. Just because someone made an article with some math problem that determines you should dl sumo or something due to the prime integers of your hips doesnt make it true.

We need to see a video. I highly doubt your squat is double what your deadlift is if you are squatting to depth.

[quote]Reed wrote:
We need to see a video. I highly doubt your squat is double what your deadlift is if you are squatting to depth.[/quote]

Wait Reed isnt your squat 2x your deadlift? haha