DL Help

Hi all. I don’t normally post here but I’m looking to get all the help I can. I’m entering my very first PL meet on 31st of March (30 days away), it’s a National comp and I’ll be competing raw and in all three lifts. Training is going well at the moment but I’m just trying to fine tune the last few bits and pieces.

I don’t know if what I’m doing is training westside/ upside/ sideways/ conjugate or any other ways, because I’m still pretty new to this and I’m still learning! A fellow PLer is helping me with the training so I get told what to do and then do it.

My DL is my strongest lift and (fingers crossed) I’ll pull a 160kg (352lb) on the day. I would really appreciate some feedback on how my DL is looking right now though - this was a 3 x 308lb pull I did today and I’d love hear what you guys think is going right/ wrong with it. At this point I think any minor tweaks will give me that extra edge, and I want to be sure my form is solid. From what I can tell my grip is still probably a bit wide, my knees are buckling inwards (I have the same issue with squats) and I’m not sure if I’m getting my ass low enough.

All help greatfully received - the DL is my lift and I really want to nail this one on the day. Oh and I promise I won’t cry if you say something mean :wink:

I should put this one in too - this was my second set of 308lb, it was meant to be three reps but I failed on the third. On the third set I only managed one. (My back is in tatters now too!!). Thanks again…

That’s a great deadlift you’ve got there!

First thing that really jumps out at me is that you start with the bar a little bit further from your shins than in probably necessary. It’s maybe only an inch or half an inch too far forward, but it’s enough to pull you forward instead of letting you sit back more.