Dizziness, Nausea and Fatigue

Ok, so I did some research with the Search tool, but I haven’t been able to find anything that matches my situation exactly. I’m hoping some of you fellow forumites can give me a hand.

I just started training again after a 6 month+ layoff due to an injury followed by an sudden onset of arthritis symptoms that are in the process of being diagnosed. Medication has only recently kicked-in to the point that I can start training again. So here’s my problem:

For some reason, I can barely do a set or two of squats or deadlifts without suddenly becoming extremely tired, a little dizzy, and occasionally nauseous to the point that I have to stop training. I am doing nothing differently from when I trained in the past, except of course much less volume. I’m pretty sure my breathing is fine. I’ve tried training first thing in the morning on an empty stomach, in the afternoon, after eating a small meal, after coffee, but nothing seems to help. I’ve gotten nauseous in the past from overtraining, but that was always after doing 35 to 40 reps to failure of ass-to-the-grass squats or something (and even then I attributed it to an ephedrine / caffeine / yomimbine stack). This is happening after 10 to 15 reps with no supplements.

I’m hoping that it’s just a matter of being out of shape, but even in my worst shape ever, I wouldn’t get fatigued after so few reps. Should I be concerned about something else that might be causing these symptoms that’s related to the yet-undiagnosed joint pain, such as a heart problem? I know that some rheumatic and auto-immune disorders have been linked to heart inflammation problems and what not.

Thanks in advance for your input.

[quote]ChrisPowers wrote:

I just started training again after a 6 month+ layoff due to an injury followed by an sudden onset of arthritis symptoms that are in the process of being diagnosed. Medication has only recently kicked-in to the point that I can start training again.[/quote]