Ditching Deadlift

I have been deadlifting 185 lbs for about 2 months now while my squat increased from 185 to 220 lbs. For the past two months, I have deloaded and deloaded and deloaded again on SS 3x5 but never did I pass 185 lbs. Always pulled out 5 reps successfully, but never seem to get anywhere. Today I did 190 for four reps, I am going to give it a try on five reps next time but should I just abandon it? What’s the worst that can happen though?

I suggest lowering the reps and focus on form. Also take a look at 5/3/1 by Jim Wendler for deads if you’re stalling. Hope this helps.

IMO you will get better advice if you provide more information. What is your difficulty? Is it a grip issue? Is it clearing the weight from the ground or locking it out where you stick? What’s going on with your life/sports/diet/past injuries/mobility issues? True, some people are built better than others for deads, but you should be able to progress regardless (barring some real underlying issue). If you post a video you will probably get even more useful feedback. Technique is quite possibly an issue.

Things like rack pulls and isometric holds at sticking points can be helpful depending on the issue but without more info, any advice you get will really be a shot in the dark.

OP, if you ignore the food advice in your other thread all the technique fixes won’t do squat (or deadlift) for you.

[quote]Macmade wrote:
I have been deadlifting 185 lbs for about 2 months now while my squat increased from 185 to 220 lbs. For the past two months, I have deloaded and deloaded and deloaded again on SS 3x5 but never did I pass 185 lbs. Always pulled out 5 reps successfully, but never seem to get anywhere. Today I did 190 for four reps, I am going to give it a try on five reps next time but should I just abandon it? What’s the worst that can happen though?[/quote]