T Nation

Distended Abdomen Help

My issue is I have a distended abdomen from my time of little exercise, very poor diet, and lots of beer. I started training about 4 years ago. I'm in ok shape now but my abs are still distended and no signs of getting better. I want to reshape my abs and flatten them out. I donâ??t have an issue with diet or time to exercise. But, my abdominal training has not yielded any results and I still have a "beer belly". Any suggestions on training moves that will help?

you should post a picture... could be that you just are still fat?

I'm not claiming to Mr. Lean here and I know where you coming from on that.

I'm 5'7" went from 195lbs at 30% BMI with a 265lbs bench, to 185lbs at 20% BMI with a 315lbs bench, now to 205lbs at 16% BMI with a 390lbs bench. I went from a 36" waist, to 32" waist, to a 33" waist. This was done over about 2 to 2 1/2 years. But, I still have the distended abdominal muscles. Even at 185lbs I had it.

When I flex my abs are ridged and they don't look bad outside of a little pug just below my belt line (I know, I know I'm working on it). It when I relax my abdominal muscles are still ridged but push out and give me a pot belly look. It's like I have a permanent Deca belly when I relax.

I will be starting a cut cycle in a few weeks and have started my diet for it 3 weeks ago. I would really hate to do the cut cycle and still have a distended abdomen.

Me at 214lbs while bulking 12/2010
[photo]32226[/photo]

From the picture it looks like you just aren't lean enough.

Posture, food in your stomach, leanness...

From the picture, as nick said, leanness seams to be a definite issue.

You don't look fat or anything, but there's enough blubber to cover your abs...

If you relax and your abs give you a pot-belly look... Fix your posture (pelvic tilt etc, there are articles about this on the main site) and maybe do some work for the transverse abd.