T Nation

Distance Running

I was formerly a serious distance runner (mainly 10K’s) and laid off for a couple of years during which time I started lifting weights seriously and using supplements (mainly Biotest). My muscular gains have been more than I ever expected. I am getting back to serious running now, and understand the “issues” I may be facing in terms of bodybuilding muscle loss as a serious runner. I would appreciate any advice or successful approaches from anyone who has been able to maintain a good amount of mass and physique definition while in a serious running program (training, diet, supplements, etc). Thanks!

30 grams of protien before you run will raise nitrogen levels and keeps body from breaking down tissue…branch chainamino acids and l-glutamine may also be added before and after running…

You could try the “Never ending cycle” to preserve muscle.

It really depends on what you mean by “serious” runner. My personal experience is when I start breaking 40 in the 10K The weights and weight go out the window. Around 36 and your back at a runners physique. You could try concentrating on the 5K and do 5 milers as your OCCASIONAL long race. 5 K training volume isn’t anywhere near as intense as the distances over 5K (this fact is of course debatable and if you feel like debating it I’m sure you could stop on over at the coolrunning discussion board). You’ll probably have to learn to be comfortable middle of the pack to accomodate the less days and miles run to preseve your precious muscle. Just my 2 cents.