T Nation

Disappointing Progress, Almost 3 Years

Hi guys , well as the title says , I have been training since Dec 2012

Yet I made little to no progress [ Image in attachment ]

I believe this is due to not following the program to the T [ I was doing 5x5 but not resetting the weight after plateau ] and not following a good diet [ protien is not that high and was cutting for like 1 year ] .

my stats are :

176 cm [5.7]
6 inch wrist [ tiny :frowning: ]
77 KG [170lb]
26 year old
18% body fat
arms 14 inch flexed :frowning:
bench 70 Kg for 7 reps

I need an advice guys , any advice that would actually make me look like I lift .

My questions are :

1) what is the best routine for my experience level , I kinda liked candito strength\hypertrophy but is it good for me good ? or sould I go back to 5x5 ?

2) Am I actually still a novice ?

3) Can I build muscle and lose fat at the same time if i am at tiny deficit [ 100 cals ] because I don't look like I have built any huge amount of muscle yet,or should I cut to 10% and then do slow bulk ?

4) Or would it be best to eat at maintenance and build muscle because i am overweight ?

Any advice is appreciated .

Thanks in advance

So you admit to not following the program, and for 2 of the 3 years you were cutting.

Start there, do the the exact opposite. Come back in 3 years.

OK , but do you think I should run 5x5 again or an upper\lower routine ?

also should I bulk or cut or recomp ?

Thank you

You're putting too much emphasis on programming and not enough on effort.

There is no magical combination of sets and reps that will get you the results you want. Pick a program you like and bust your ass on it. Eat WELL (don't bulk, cut, recomp, IIFYM, carb nite, carb backload, paleo, IF, Warrior Diet, atkins, veagan, keto, etc).

Use this as a structure

https://www.T-Nation.com/diet-fat-loss/simple-diet

I like Pwnisher's notes above. In addition: