Direct Ab Work Necessary?

Hey guys I’m new to the forum and I’d like to ask something that I’m curious about, so far I’ve been training for 6 months my split is chest and tris, back and bis, legs, shoulders. I’ve neglected training abs directly because I save it for the big compounds such as weighted pull ups, but since my diet is in place and I’m somewhat lean do you think targeting abs will contribute to the 6 pack thing?

Thanks guys

I’m a big believer in high-volume ab work. I discuss my approach in my most recent comment on the post EyeDentist: How do you train? in the BSL subforum.

[quote]brianrock5 wrote:
I’ve neglected training abs directly because I save it for the big compounds such as weighted pull ups[/quote]
Direct ab training can help with strength, injury prevention, and obviously muscle. Totally neglecting them is like totally neglecting rear delts.

You don’t necessarily have to do a ton of ab work, but some kind of flexion (a crunch variation) and some kind of anti-rotation or anti-flexion (Pallof press or plank variation) movement would be a basic start.

[quote]EyeDentist wrote:
I’m a big believer in high-volume ab work. I discuss my approach in my most recent comment on the post EyeDentist: How do you train? in the BSL subforum.[/quote]
I just took a look at that. Seems old school (I mean that in a 100% positive way) and reminiscent of what some bodybuilders in the '70s would do. Guys like Serge Nubret, Zane, and Franco would often do high volume ab sessions, doing crunches for time, etc. Can’t say it didn’t work for them.

Alternating an ab move with a cardio-ish move, is also discussed in this article for “spot reducing” the abs:

So, very cool stuff, man. Glad to see it’s working for you.

Yes, I think training the muscles responsible for a 6-pack will help with a 6-pack. In addition to a dialed-in nutrition plan, of course.

I found ab wheel rollouts to help quite a bit.