Dimethyl Sulfoxide (DMSO)?

Heard of it…? Used it…? Any thoughts…?

It’s technically a solvent, but can easily permeate human tissue, and acts as a free radical scavenger, analgesic, and anti-inflammatory.

Below is a link to dmso.org, but if you google it, there is a lot of data available on the subject:

It’s been used as a horse liniment since the 60’s. Personally, I’ve been using it for about 3 months, and have had good success with it applied topically for pain and inflammation relief.

As a point of reference for those who have discovered the benefits of MSM for joint health, MSM is derived from DMSO.

-james

yhea just be careful on making the skin permeable you may just suck in trash you dont want as well. Stuff does work great though dissolve some ibuprofen in it pain go bye bye

Phill

It reacts with a ton of shit, using sparingly would seem to be the good idea.

Have worked with this stuff in tissue culture labs as a constituent of cell freezing medium, it is designated as highly irritating, its not nice stuff, be careful with it. personally i would steer clear of it.

[quote]antman wrote:
Have worked with this stuff in tissue culture labs as a constituent of cell freezing medium, it is designated as highly irritating, its not nice stuff, be careful with it. personally i would steer clear of it.[/quote]

I’ve also worked with it, and have found there is a wide range of human sensitivity to DMSO. Meaning that the same dose that causes cell permeability for one cell type, will cause death for another.

I try to stay clear of organic solvents, except for the alcohol found in beer, of course.

Ok, thanks for the input…looks like mixed reviews.

-james

[quote]antman wrote:
Have worked with this stuff in tissue culture labs as a constituent of cell freezing medium, it is designated as highly irritating, its not nice stuff, be careful with it. personally i would steer clear of it.[/quote]

dmso is cell stabilizing at low temps.