DIfferent Types of Fats

Can someone explain to me the different types of fats, and their purposes. I hear a lot about Omega-3, Saturated fats, monostaurate, etc., but i never understand. For me fat has always been fat, and something i tried to avoid. Can someone clarify the differences, benefits, disadvantages, and if theyre good for someone with a slow metabolism. Thank you.

I’m not a nutrition expert, but I reccommend getting the notion that eating fat will make you fat. That simply is not the case. I find that about 30% of your caloric intake should come from fats, depending on how you decide to deal with your carbs.

There are three different types: saturated, monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats. You should try to balance your total fat intake between the three types. This means getting a 1/3 of your total fat calories from each type. 

Just to help you out:

Sources of saturated fat: animal fats (eggs, dairy, red meat, butter), coconut oil and palm oil

Sources of monounsaturated fat: olive oil, nuts, avocado

Sources of polyunsaturated fat: flax seeds/oil and fish oil

I’d say get yourself Flameout if you haven’t already. I don’t get too caught up in it, but I know if I take my flame out, eat some almonds/cashews here and there and eat my red meat, most of my bases will be covered.

Good luck

So fats can be GOOD for you? I heard this somewhere, that omega fatty acids help brain development, or some other stuff like that. Arent saturated fats bad for you?

No, they’re not, it was misinformation. Do some digging and you’ll find the articles, I just read one on mens health the other day. And yes fat is good for you, there are essential fatty acids you MUST eat that your body can not produce. Saturated fat is also needed for proper hormone production. Definitely make sure you’re eating fish and/or taking alot fish oil since most Americans Omega3 to Omega6 ratio is way off, in favor of more 6’s.

Bottom line- EAT YOUR FATS. Fats do not make you fat.