T Nation

Different Loading Variations

Hey CT - I’m just curious how you would recommend rotating in chains with the layer system. I’m following the periodization scheme that you have previously outlined (Accumulation, Intensification, Transformation) with a 4 week strength phase inserted in between each of those. So basically a 6 month cycle.

I was thinking of using chains on an exercise (decline bench for example) and using it for 2 months (one hypertrophy phase and one strength phase). Is this too long? Should I only use them for the strength phases? I’m new to chains so I’m not really sure when the best time to use them is. I think the easy answer is to just rotate them in when progress stalls, but it also seems to make sense to stick with the same loading variation for an entire 4 week phase at the minimum.

Also, should the same loading variation be used on both the incline and the decline at the same time or should they be staggered.

I guess this question could also be applied to exercise variations as well (standard barbell vs swiss bar vs DS bar etc)

I’m OCD with how I plan these variations out so I like them to fit nicely in 4 week blocks, but I know this isn’t necessarily the best approach. Curious to hear your thoughts.

Am I over-thinking this??

Thanks for your time. Your advice is the best.

Anyone else’s advice or experiences are also welcome.

Thanks!

[quote]JMo_19 wrote:
Hey CT - I’m just curious how you would recommend rotating in chains with the layer system. I’m following the periodization scheme that you have previously outlined (Accumulation, Intensification, Transformation) with a 4 week strength phase inserted in between each of those. So basically a 6 month cycle.