Diet While Laid Up Post-Surgery

Hi guys, I have a major shoulder repair coming up involving two separate labrum repairs, removing some calcification, relocating the biceps origin, etc. My surgeon says I’m going to be in a non-movable sling for the first 4-6 weeks, start physical therapy around month 3 and then resume semi-strenuous exercise after 6 months.

I’m worried about getting fat(ter). I lift weights, push a prowler, hike, bike, etc. on and off throughout the year. My most recent squat, bench, and deadlift are 405, 310, and 495 respectively. I’m a little overweight as it is, and I can only imagine how much fatter I would be if it weren’t for the little bit of physical activity I do get in. I work a desk job, and I’m a grad student in my free time, so I spend 14-18hrs a day sitting in front of a computer.

My surgery is tomorrow. Now that I’m going to be almost completely out of commission for the next 6 months, I’m terrified of turning into Jabba the Hutt in the first couple months when I’ll be doing next to nothing. The only reason I look even halfway decent in street clothes to begin with is that I have a decent amount of muscle mass and my bodyfat is well-distributed, so I carry a lot more fat than people think. The Army tape test puts me at 20%, but in actuality I think I’m closer to 26-28%. It’s something I’ve worked on with limited short term success many times in the past.