T Nation

Diet Formulation Help

I am a newbie to T-Nation. I have read most of the newbie articles including the TDawg diet, Nutrition for Newbies (all parts) and several other nutrition articles. I have been eating 1200 calories for what seems like forever. I began a training program about 3 months ago. I have seen some changes in my body, but haven’t lost any fat. From reading these articles I think I have been depriving my body of calories and thus my body has been hanging on to the fat.

I currently weigh 147 and I am 5’1 (on a good day, usually 5’.5). My goal is to be around 125-130, which according to my height is an ideal weight. I want to be lean and muscular (but I am female and don’t want to look like a professional body builder).

After reading the articles it seems that I should be eating about 2191 calories to maintain my weight. So, since I am trying to lose fat I have set my target at 1691 (500 less). I have set my carbs at 70 on non training days and 100 on training days. I have my fat at 80g per day and Protein at 220g per day. Other than that, I am planning on following TDawg for what I should be eating. I am seeking critques, advice and any other suggestions.

Because you’ve been so low for so long, take a few weeks and eat at maintenance. Then drop down to 500 below.

If you want us to critique, you’ll need to post a sample daily menu so we can see what foods you’re actually eating. Obviously you read the t-dawg article and set it up accordingly. You numbers look good, but the real test is what you’re eating.

What’s your training look like?

Pre TDawg My menu was:
1st meal:
FiberOne Cereal
Fat Free Milk
2nd meal:
Premier Nutrition Protein Shake
3rd meal
1/2 Turkey sandwich w/ cheese and mustard
4th meal
fresh fruit or vege
5th meal
chick breast + vege